Ciao, Summer. I Mean It. Scoot.

 

photo via Lolaisbeauty, via ThemThangs

photo via Lolaisbeauty, via ThemThangs

 

 Today as I walked along Broadway, I realized you are gone.  The sky has been that robin’s egg blue that only occurs in the crisp air of autumn.  It was cold in the shade.  And there are pumpkins and mums EVERYWHERE.

That’s okay, I’m ready for nights by the fire and crazy cozy Inhabit sweater (just got it today).  But still.  I’ll miss you.  I really did my best to enjoy the last moments of your stay…

 

I sat in the sun and ate meat and cheese with hunks of crusty bread and olives

I sat in the sun and ate meat and cheese with hunks of crusty bread and olives

Those few weeks of meteorological bliss, when summer gives way to autumn, might be my favorite time of the year.  The sun is warm, the shade is cool, the air becomes dryer, more crisp, and it smells of leaves and wood and sunshine.  The sky turns a shade of blue so deep you rub your eyes and think you’re seeing things.  You are.  It’s the sky, sans haze.  I drove around the North Fork of Long Island, eating at North Fork Table and Inn, collecting white pebbles at Orient Point State Beach,and collecting fresh vegetables from Sang Lee Farms on the way home.  It didn’t suck that I was the passenger in a sweet convertible.

IMG_9268

Above, the smoked salmon with radishes and corn blini.  Below, fluke crudo.  Way below, a coconut tapioca pudding.  All from North Fork Table and Inn.

IMG_9269

IMG_9273

IMG_9288

Above, the scene at Sang Lee organic farm.  Below, the beauty and freakiness of organic… look at the little critter I found in my heirloom tomato!

IMG_9291

2 Comments

Filed under Travel

2 responses to “Ciao, Summer. I Mean It. Scoot.

  1. papi

    ah, coolness prevails
    hush my darling for we can
    breathe again

  2. joan

    THE dessert looks like it descended from Mars! Ilove IT!!!

Leave a Reply

