LA’s Pizzeria Mozza!

 

The Complete Awesome Egg, Asparagus and Speck Pizza

The Complete Awesome Egg, Asparagus and Speck Pizza

 

 

I flew to LA for a couple of days, and every single person I spoke to about meals insisted I go to one of the Mozza’s- the Osteria or the more casual (and more crowded) Pizzeria.  Nancy Silverton, Batali and Bastianich are the forces behind these spots, so going there was a no-brainer. I checked into the SLS (very cool hotel, check out here) and head straight to meet up with my LA boys David and Frank and my friend Gihan. We scored a table with no problem on Sunday evening (right after the earthquake that I never felt) which was particularly surprising to the LA crew who insisted there was always a wait at the Pizzeria.  The food was excellent, sort of like an Otto meets Lupa meets Inoteca.  Good clean Italian ingredients, and my only criticism was a heavy hand with the salt on the otherwise divine pizzas.  

 

Bean Bruschette

Bean Bruschette

 

Snap Pea Salad with Goat Cheese

Snap Pea Salad with Goat Cheese

Nancy's Chopped Salad

Nancy's Chopped Salad

Wild Mushroom Pizza

Wild Mushroom Pizza

Pizzeria Mozza: 641 N. Highland. For more info on Pizzeria and Osteria, click here.

2 Comments

Filed under Eating, Restaurants, Travel

2 responses to “LA’s Pizzeria Mozza!

  1. Conor

    Yeah, I’m from L.A. and have been going to Mozza since Batali opened its doors in 2007. My buddies operate the restaurant and I informed them that you thought there was a heavy hand with the salt. They didn’t take the criticism well but I thought they should know. By the way, Mozza doesn’t consider itself a pizzeria, just a FYI. Glad to hear you had a blast in L.A., I’ll hit you up when I visit NYC!!!! – Conor

  2. Pingback: Dishing: Mike Gonzalez, Designer « at first bite

Leave a Reply

