A Preview of Summer Ease

still from Hitchcock's Rear Window 

 

still from Hitchcock's Rear Window

At present, I am laying on my floor as that is the coolest part of my apartment and having a Rear Window moment.  A row of brownstones across the street regularly offer me a glimpse into fairly normal life, but tonight, perhaps fueled by the 80 degree heat, cherry blossom-scented air and the rich sapphire sky, a couple has gone up to the roof directly across from me and are fully making out. I try to avoid glancing that way but I can’t help it… they’ve been at it for about fifteen minutes now.  I try to focus on my screen and the point of this post- the impending joys of summer- but can’t help glancing (er, staring) over to see if they will ever come up for air.  

Then it strikes me:  that is the joy of summer.  Summer is all about giving in- to the sun, to love, to a crush, to ice cream, to laziness, to that extra cheeseburger, to skimpy clothes, to margaritas during lunch hour, to harmless voyeurism, to every indulgence we spend all winter dreaming of.  As for the wanton couple on the roof… may we all have such fun. So grab a bottle of wine, sneak up to the roof and don’t pay any attention to the mostly bemused chick across the street.

Sunday Summer Sammy: rosemary ham, hot and sweet peppers pickled by the Italian father of my friend's fiancee, mayo, gouda, whole grain baguette from greenmarket.

Sunday Summer Sammy: rosemary ham, hot and sweet peppers pickled by the Italian father of my friend's fiancee, mayo, gouda, whole grain baguette from greenmarket.

Naturally, this would be a great time to segue into sandwiches, which was what I had intended to start with here but lovers on a roof seemed, I don’t know, sexier.  If the lovers represent the joys of summer, the sandwich represents the ease of summer.  No one wants to cook unless it’s over a grill in the open air.  And at no other time of year would I ever be content to make a sandwich with the remnants of yesterday’s picnic and eat it on my fire escape with a glass of french lemonade.  Fire escape dinners might be the quintessential summer-in-the-city meal.

Alfred Hitchcock’s Rear Window: possibly one of the classiest thrillers ever.  Buy it here.

Want to update your sandwich repertoire?  Start here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating

Leave a Reply

