Kitchen Dregs Can Be Awesome

After a late night at work, I came home hungry, exhausted, and unwilling to wait for the delivery guy or go to the market.  Still, I didn’t want a bowl of cereal.  So I rummaged through the fridge, summoning a tiny, worn-out hunk of parmigiano and slightly wilted spinach.  I sawed through what was left of a VERY crusty baguette and dribbled with olive oil, shredded parm, a piece of spinach and added sea salt, cracked black pepper and a hint of chili flakes.  I threw it in the toaster, and this was what I got: a very satisfying, flavorful crostini.   It’s amazing what you can make when you’re desperate.

img_0011

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating

Leave a Reply

