Two Reasons to Visit Duane Park

2duanepark

A long long time ago I wrote a short review of Duane Park for nymag.com.  My impression of it was that it was a sleepy kind of place, good for locals with a taste for finer things.  I never went back.

Fast forward three (or four) years.  Cruising by one sunny Saturday afternoon, I notice a sign outside Duane Park advertising an afternoon tea.  A-mazing.  I love civilized afternoon happy hours.  It’s Monday-Friday, from 3-4PM, by reservation only (highly civilized.  For you and a date, you can enjoy the following:

 

Afternoon Tea Menu

$20 per person
$35 for 2
Monday – Friday 3pm to 4pm

a thimble of sherry

Finger Sandwiches
Egg and Watercress on Eli’s Wholewheat
Roast Beef and Horseradish Creme
Smoked Scottish Salmon
Cucumber and Danish Butter

Homemade Scones
Devonshire Clotted Cream
Red Jack Orchard StrawberryJam

Selection of Petiti Fours
madeline’s meringues, tuilles

Teas
British classic PG Tips
English Breakfast

Taylors of Harrogate

Green Tea with jasmine
Afternoon Darjeeling
China rose petal tea

 

I made a mental note that day to come and have afternoon tea, a mental note that still exists.  Today, I learned that Shawn Knight is the chef there, a guy whose incredible southern-inspired cooking I fell in love with at the short-lived Natchez.  It was a charming little spot that reminded one of a sultry New Orleans night, and I was addicted to the food, particularly the oyster po boy.  I highly recommend making a stop at Duane Park for these two reasons, afternoon tea and po boys.

Duane Park Cafe, 157 Duane St in Tribeca.  Visit website here.

1 Comment

Filed under Eating, Restaurants

One response to “Two Reasons to Visit Duane Park

  1. KPD

    I’m going to tell my sister about this spot now. It sounds wonderful – a throwback and an unexpected gem in the city. Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

