Caramel Apples

 

A Caramel Apple, neatly packaged.

my caramel apple, neatly packaged.

My best friend Lucy surprised me the other day with a caramel apple.  She had bought it at a farmer’s market on her way to meet me for brunch at Char No. 4 in Carroll Gardens, Brooklyn.  I don’t indulge often in caramel apples, as they are messy and a thing kids would enjoy.

Then again, it’s fun to pretend you’re a kid.

So I came home and stared at it for awhile. I shrugged and bit…and bit….and gnawed…

There is A LOT of caramel to work through.  Yet the moment you reach that first juicy, crisp bite of apple, all your hard work is rewarded by very autumnal melange of flavors: rich, tart, sweet, creamy, crisp.

my first bites

my first bite

 Next time, Lucy suggested I slice up the apple for easier, more grown-up eating.  A smart idea and one that avoids the melty-caramel-on-the-face look.

 Want to make them yourself?  Here’s an easy recipe I found from southernrecipes.com.  You just need a crockpot:

Ingredients:

  • 2 packages (14oz each) caramels
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 8 medium apples, such as McIntosh, Gala, or Fuji
  • sticks for apples

Preparation:

In slow cooker, combine caramels and water. Cover and cook on high for 1 to 1 1/2 hours, or until caramels are melted, stirring frequently.Meanwhile, line a baking pan with wax paper; butter the paper.

Wash and dry the apples. Insert a stick into stem end of each apple. Reduce crockpot heat to LOW.

Dip apple into hot caramel; turn to coat entire surface. 

Place coated apples on prepared wax paper in pan. As you near the bottom of the pot, use a spoon to spoon hot caramel over apples. Put the pan of coated apples in the refrigerator to set thoroughly.

1 Comment

Filed under Eating

One response to “Caramel Apples

  1. I love caramel and making it is a lot of fun too. I had a ball making these homemade caramel apples by Martha Stewart. Perfect for Halloween!
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/10/10/classic-caramel-apples/

Leave a Reply

