Expectations Fully Exceeded at 5 Ninth

In New York, it’s easy to be disappointed by restaurants… especially restaurants in the Meatpacking District. It’s a trendy, almost silly neighborhood, completely overexposed, and full of beautiful restaurants where $18 cocktails and $42 entrees are de rigeur.  I never go here, unless it’s some fashion event where my cocktails are free.

we shared a half carafe of sancerre

we started with a half carafe of Sancerre

That said, last Sunday when I was on my bike tour of Manhattan, my boyfriend and I found ourselves outside Pastis, hungry, wanting a civilized lunch but not wanting to wait for an al fresco table.  Turned off both by the 40 minute wait for an al fresco table and the french-manicured, canal st. knockoff bag crowd that had invaded this particular day, I looked around for an alternative.

5 Ninth stood quietly across the street.  I had been there over the winter and remembered that I had had a rich, delicious, cozy meal there last winter.  I remember being shocked that the restaurant was in the Meatpacking.   And with a shrug, I decided to give it a go.

sweet beets and oranges with baby lettuces over a smooth herbed goat cheese

sweet beets and oranges with baby lettuces over a smooth herbed goat cheese

a great hamburger

a great hamburger

We were sat immediately in the pretty covered patio, light filtering in, a laid-back crowd and even a baby. They had decided to extend their restaurant week menu for another week, so we went with a three-course prix-fixe for $24.07.  Our lunch, as you can see from the photos, was absolutely lovely, more lovely than anything I could have imagined at Pastis, and a perfect way to spend a couple of lazy hours with someone I love.  Was it the best meal I ever had?  No, absolutely not.  But it was exactly what I wanted, nothing more and nothing less, at a price that made me feel like for once, I wasn’t being robbed.

bourbon-spiked chocolate pot de creme

so much decadence in a neat little glass: bourbon-spiked chocolate pot de creme

simple dessert of berries and cream

simple dessert of berries and cream

5 Ninth, www.5ninth.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating, Restaurants

Leave a Reply

