Aloha, Hawai’i

Imagine if this was your home?!    

 

Imagine if this was your home?!

Tomorrow morning I fly to Kaua’i, a place I consider so magical it would be sacrilege to even try to describe it in less than 1000 words.  I’ll be attending the wedding of my best friend Meleana.

My Hawaiian friend Meleana, checking out fruit at Oahu Market, gets hitched on Saturday

My Hawaiian friend Meleana, checking out fruit at Oahu Market, gets hitched on Saturday

Meleana, a handbag designer, was born and raised on a banana farm above one of the most awe-inspiring beaches on earth (Secret Beach), in a wonderfully rustic home where the bathing option (besides the ocean) is in an outdoor shower surrounded by flowers and a view of the Pacific ocean.  The land is teeming with trees of all kinds: tangelo, mango, avocado, banana.  We eat them for breakfast, and then we chase away the chickens on the way the beach.  We eat poi and throw pigs in the ground to roast.  For dessert we eat shaved ice, or we bake cookies.  If it sounds like heaven, it’s because it is.  

You could quit your job, move to Hawaii, and open a juice bar.

You could quit your job, move to Hawai'i, and open a juice bar.

I mean....come. on.  This is Hanalei Bay, one of the most special places...you know

I mean....Come. On. This is Hanalei Bay, one of the most special places...you know, on EARTH.

 I’ll return soon with a great tan and a full report on the totally fascinating Hawaiian cuisine: shaved ice, poi, pig, and of course, spam.  Until then, enjoy some shots from my last trip to Hawai’i, when I spent time in Kaua’i and Oahu.

fresh leis at a local market in Honolulu

fresh leis at a local market in Honolulu

The Oahu Market in Honolulu

The Oahu Market in Honolulu

1 Comment

Filed under Travel

One response to “Aloha, Hawai’i

  1. love love love it! Wish you would come be a Hawaiian with me. You fit right in.
    xxooxo

Leave a Reply

